BTM Willis Prize

Professor B.T.M. (Terry) Willis
Professor B.T.M. (Terry) Willis

In 2007, the IOP Neutron Scattering Group and the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry established a prize for outstanding neutron scattering science in honour of the founding chairman of the Neutron Scattering Group, Professor B T M Willis.

The prize is awarded to an individual in recognition of a single outstanding piece of work, or a longer term coherent body of work, in the application of neutron scattering to a significant problem in physics, chemistry, materials science, earth science, the life sciences, or engineering, or alternatively in recognition of a major development in neutron scattering instrumentation or techniques.


The recipient of the prize will normally be an early career scientist, i.e. in the first 12 years of a research career (allowing for career breaks) following the award of a first degree, who has made a substantial contribution to the development or reputation of physics / Chemistry / Biology in the UK or Ireland.

Previous Winners