Neutron Scattering Group

UK NSG ILL Position Statement

The Neutron Scattering Group is a group jointly hosted by Institute of Physics (IOP) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) to promote neutron science actively with its UK user community. Our aims are to:

Our mission is to support and develop the UK neutron community in a rapidly changing global neutron landscape, and to represent UK neutron scattering externally. Additionally, we award the BTM Willis Prize, Don McKenzie Paul Thesis Prize and the Thomas-Penfold Poster Prize annually. Examples of activities include organising and contributing to conferences and schools involving neutron scattering research, e.g. the Faraday Joint Interest Group Conferences in 2017, 2021 and 2023, the biennial Oxford School on Neutron Scattering and early career researcher meetings in 2020 and 2022.