NSG Newsletter - 2022

Hannu Mutka and John Copley

It’s with great sadness that we begin this newsletter with news that two pioneers of time-of-flight neutron spectroscopy, Hannu Mutka and John Copley, passed away recently. Hannu designed and built IN4 at the ILL and worked there for many years. John designed and built DCS at NCNR – and also published a lot of TOF wisdom (Fermi choppers, resolution functions, etc.). An obituary for Hannu can be found here

Symposium in honour of Isabelle Grillo 18-20 May 2022

The symposium in honour of Isabelle Grillo has been rescheduled to 18 to 20 May 2022, and we hope that on that date the meeting can be held in-person for all.

Through the words of her closest collaborators, this symposium will highlight her outstanding contribution spanning from fundamental approaches to very practical and industrially relevant questions on everyday products.

Registration and abstract submission for the poster session are open again on the symposium website. For practical reasons, if you already registered and sent an abstract in 2020 we kindly ask you to do so again.

Presentations for NMSUM 2022 – deadline 28th March

Contributions for oral and poster presentations during the Science Day (26th April 2022) of NMSUM 2022 are now open. Deadline for submission is March 28th. Please see the following link for further details:

QENS/WINS 2022, San Sebastian, Spain, 23-27th May.

Registration is now open.

International Conference on Neutron Scattering (ICNS 2022), Buenos Aires, Argentina, 21st-25th August.

Registration is now open.

7th European Crystallographic School

Registration is still open for the 7th European Crystallographic School, which takes place in Lisbon between the 10-15 July 2022.

The school will focus on a wide range of topics and will be of benefit to young scientists. Please share this with your networks to increase awareness of the school.

The Tenth Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prizes

The European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) and the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) will be awarding two Bertaut prizes to young scientists (<8 years post-PhD) in recognition of notable experimental, methodological or theoretical contributions to the investigation of matter using crystallographic or neutron scattering methods. Nomination deadline is 31 March 2022. See here for more information:

Molecular Spectroscopy Users Group Meeting (ISIS), Coseners House, Abingdon, 27-28th June.

For more information contact mona.sarter@stfc.ac.uk

MDANSE School 2022 (Molecular and Lattice Dynamics for Analysis of Neutron Spectroscopy), Coseners House, Abingdon, 29th June-1st July,

For more information contact sanghamitra.mukhopadhyay@stfc.ac.uk

Access to Facilities

ISIS is now accepting applications for beam time for both TS1 and TS2 instruments. Deadline: 20th April. More information here.

ISIS Shutdown Updates

Cool pictures and more information on shutdown updates can be found here.

Science highlight

Sodium diffusion and dynamics in Na2Ti3O7: neutron scattering and ab initio simulations, Mater. Adv., Vol.3, page 2104-2116 (2022).

Get in touch

Do you have a news item that you would like to see included in this newsletter? Are you advertising for PhD or PDRA position in the field of neutron scattering? Have you just defended your PhD and want the community to know about this? Have you been to a conference or published/read a book or chapter or paper that is of interest to the neutron scattering community? Then get in touch with a short description of the item at committee@ukneutron.org and we will include the item in the newsletter for the following month as well as publicize on our webpage and through our Twitter account @ukneutron.