BTM Willis Prize 2022 – Call for Nominations

The UK Neutron Scattering Group and the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry award an annual prize to outstanding early career scientists who make widespread use of neutron scattering. The prize is named in honour of the founding chairman of the UK Neutron Scattering Group, Professor B T M Willis.

Nominations for the 2022 BTM Willis Prize are now open. Deadline: (Sunday) 27 March 2022


The prize is awarded to an individual in recognition of a single outstanding piece of work, or of a longer term coherent body of work, in the use of neutrons applied to a significant scientific challenge, or alternatively in recognition of a major development in neutron instrumentation or techniques.


The recipient of the prize will be a scientist, in the first 12 years of a research career following the award of a first degree (allowing for career breaks), who has made a substantial contribution to the development or reputation of neutron science in the UK or Ireland.

Prize nomination:

Self-nominations are accepted. Nominators will be asked to upload a statement of support (max 500 words), the candidate’s CV (2 pages)and a list of publications, and the names of two supporters who will also be contacted for letters of support. Submit nomination here.


The panel to judge the prize will be composed of the Neutron Scattering Group committee, with external experts asked to join the panel to contribute expertise not covered by the committee. Committee members with a potential conflict of interest (e.g. supervisor/former supervisor of the candidate, or from the same department as the candidate) will not be involved in assessing that candidate’s nomination.

The panel will assess the impact of each candidate’s work in terms of its quality, originality, rigour and significance, based on the evidence put forward by the candidate and their referees. Metrics (journal impact factor and citations) will be of minor importance given the cross-disciplinary nature of the field of neutron work.

For more information about the nomination and applications please see the Neutron Scattering Group webpage at